All Inbound Travel to Sri Lanka Banned from 23rd May 2021

19th May, 2021 News and Updates

Shehan Sumanasekara, Chief Director-Operations, Airport and Aviation Services confirms that all inbound travel to Sri Lanka has been banned from 23rd to 31st May 2021. Sri Lanka is currently trying to contain the third wave of the COVID-19 pandemic with the country exceeding 1000 COVID related deaths on the 18th of May.

No restrictions have been placed on those passengers opting to depart Sri Lanka however all airlines have been banned from bringing any travellers to the country.

The directive also applies Sri Lankan citizens.

Transit passengers excluding those travelling from India may move via Sri Lankan Airports provided that the transit period is less than 12 hours. (Read more here)